Six Pack Saturday|| Abs or Flabs?

Just to clarify, I am not some macho body builder with a 96 pack- neither can I advise you on how to be. This is either because I am the living equivalent of a doughnut or it is physically impossible to obtain a 96 pack of anything other than sausages.

So why am I, a highly skilled couch potato, writing a fitness post? I asked myself the same question. But I reckon I could have a jolly good go at it, so here it is- my guide of rambling nonsense about the ins (and outs) of abdominal fitness.

tumblr_mjt846h9F31rczg0co1_500

Upon one of my un-motivational Sunday-days, I decided I would get a six pack. So I took the treacherous journey up to my bedroom, and did some sit-ups. As you can imagine I was highly disappointed when I awoke the next morning to find the same tyre of a stomach I had 24 hours ago. So I formulated a routine; which consisted of:

  1. 50 ‘normal’ crunches (legs on the floor)
  2. 50 ‘perpendicular’ crunches (legs raised 90 degrees to your body)
  3. 50 leg raises
  4. 50 V-Up crunches
  5. 50 bicycle crunches
  6.  …a plank.

Now for a couch potato, this was torture. Doing 251 individual exercises before bed meant I often fell asleep whilst planking- a rather awkward and frankly uncomfortable position to spend the next 8 hours in.

The first plank of the routine lasted 1:00, by which 60 seconds felt more like 60 years and left me looking like a 50 year old with severe sunburn. Never the less, my headphones and I managed to battle through, increasing the duration by a whopping 10 seconds each day.

Today is the 2 month anniversary of the routine (

black-nike-running-shoes-tumblr-l21tq4um

So there you have it! My daily ‘fitness’ routine (ft. a shed full of useless jibber jabber about couch potatoes and sausages). Once more I sincerely apologise for the general nonsense I have just spent the last 5 hours writing, I hope it provides some vague interest!

Thank you for reading,

S x

2 thoughts on “Six Pack Saturday|| Abs or Flabs?”

Leave a Reply

